I Wrote a Beautiful Children’s Book

Introducing Ponder Tales

Angie Smartt
3 min readJun 11, 2023
image by author

Hello to my beloved Medium community. I have been absent from this platform for a bit and have missed it very much. But I am happy to be back to announce that I have written a book called Ponder Tales.

“Once upon a time, there was a little boy named Ponder…” And so began hundreds of stories told to my children before they nodded off to sleep.

Ponder’s world revolved around his brother, his parents, and a few friends, just as my own children’s world did. The setting of all the early Ponder stories was the wilderness. Ponder, along with his family and friends, lived in tent-type housing, made of a frame and animal skins with a fire in the middle. But Ponder and his people were not intended to be any specific traditional people, but people who live outside of our modern civilization. His life was separate from our own in space and time, but his interests, passions, and problems were very similar to my kids’.

I never knew what story Ponder would find himself in until I laid my head down next to my children’s. My story ideas would be plucked from whatever had happened in their worlds that day. And so Ponder’s story would somehow reflect some part of my own boys’ stories. After the story was told, and sometimes even before it was finished, there would be a rapt discussion…

--

--